Motor City Horns


Mark Byerly (trumpet); Bob Jensen (trumpet); Keith Kaminski (saxophones); John Rutherford (trombone, tuba); Alberta Adams (vocal); Johnnie Bassett (vocal, guitar); Jimmy Bones (keys); Carl Cafagna (clarinet); Paul Carey (el. guitar); Clint Carpenter (drums); Chris Codish (vocal, keys); Thornetta Davis (vocal); Josef Deas (bass); Dan Eienheuser (bass); Johnny Evans (sax); Ja Franco (vocal); Larry Fratangelo (percussion); Wayne Gerard (guitar); Todd Glass (drums, percussion); Dale Grisa (keys); Tino Martin Gross (vocal); Erik Gustafson (el. guitar); Bill Higgins (drums); Mo Hollis (el. bass); Yorg Keriasiotis (vocal, keys); Michael King (vocal, el. guitar); Julien Labro (accordion); Liz Larin (vocal, guitar); Brett Lucas (el. bass); Mike Marshall (el. bass); Shawn McDonald (piano); Paradime (vocal); Barbara Payton (vocal); Evan Perri (guitar); Rick Roe (el. piano); Savallace (vocal); James Simonson (el. bass); Jimmy Smith (trumpet); Mike Smith (el. guitar); RJ Spangler (drums); Chris Sterr (el. guitar); Charles Stuart (drums); Robert Tye (el. guitar); Skeeto Valdez (drums); Brian Vander Ark (guitar, vocal); Shannon Wade (acc. bass); Nate Winn (drums).


Showcasing their versatility as a horn section and the musical diversity of Detroit, this CD features 48 musicians (not on the same track!) in a variety of styles including Rock, Pop, R&B, Blues, Funk, Soul, and Jazz. Highlights include Brian Vander Ark from The Verve Pipe and appearances by background singers and sidemen from Bob Seger’s Silver Bullet Band and Kid Rock’s Twisted Brown Trucker.

Liner Notes

The Motor City Horns are among Detroit’s most versatile musicians. Individually, MCH members have worked with a variety of artists, bands, and orchestras including: Justin Timberlake, The Temptations, The Four Tops, The Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble. As a group, they have joined forces with Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band (2006 – 2007 Face The Promise Tour), as well as Clarence Clemons and the Temple of Soul. Locally they have appeared with The Brothers Groove, Johnnie Bassett and the Blues Insurgents, Thornetta Davis, Root Doctor and Alexander Zonjic. With Zonjic, they have shared the stage and crafted horn arrangements for many well-known jazz artists, including Bob James and Jeff Lorber. Recent CD releases include The Verve Pipe, Ben Cyllus, The TaleGators, Root Doctor, Midtown Underground, Carl Craig and Tribe, bluesman Johnnie Bassett and singer/songwriter Liz Larin. The Motor City Horns are a full service production team, able to assist in any aspect of a live performance or recording project (producing, recording, writing/arranging, etc…)

Motor City Horns

  1. Local Boys (feat. Brian Vander Ark)
  2. Smoke and Mirrors (feat. Michael King)
  3. Kissing My Love (feat. Thornetta Davis)
  4. Cadillac Blues (feat. Johnnie Bassett)
  5. Superman Lover (feat. The Brothers Groove)
  6. Casual Observer (feat. The Brothers Groove)
  7. The Introduction (feat. Savallace and Paradime)
  8. Cross Section (feat. Bop Culture)
  9. Crash Save The Pieces (feat. Liz Larin)
  10. Appollonia (feat. Bump)
  11. The Mooche* (feat. The Hot Club of Detroit)
  12. Remember Me (feat. Alberta Adams)
  13. If You Love Someone (feat. The Howling Diablos)
  14. Detroit (feat. Alberta Adams)

*Guest on the selected track

© 2009 Brassjar Music
Click for purchase information